Current projects
  • Laudato Si working group:  This working group aims to share an understanding of Laudato Si as a vital evangelising tool in the Irish church, with a focus on generating and supporting an ecological conversion in the lives of individuals and communities.   The members of this working group include: Fr Dermot Lane, Sr. Patricia Lynott, Prof. John Sweeney, Fr. John McDonagh, Dr. Lorna Gold, Ms. Sylvia Thompson, Ms. Jane Mellett, Mr Vivek da Silva and Ms Kate Liffey. 


  • Post Primary Religious Education working group:  This working seeks to support post primary Religious Education in Ireland, aiming, in particular to support religious education in the new Junior Cycle reality outlined in the Junior Cycle Framework (DES, 2015).  The members of this working group include: Dr. Michael Redmond (JMB), Fr. Michael Drumm, Fr. Dermot Lane, Fr. Gareth Byrne, Dr Amalee Meehan, Ms Ailis Travers, Mr. Gary Abrahamian, Ms. Patricia Sheridan, Ms. Caroline O’Brien and Ms. Kate Liffey


  • In-servicing of Primary Religious Education and Programme:  This working group, made up of Primary Diocesan Advisors supports the roll out of in-servicing of the new PCatholic Preschool and Primary Religious Education Curriculum and the new programme Grow in Love.  This working group includes: Dr. Fiona Dineen, Ms. Maeve Mahon, Ms. Helen Leacy, Mr. Joe Searsons, Ms. Breda Holmes and Sr. Maureen Matthews.



  • Exploring together Sacramental Preparation:  This is a working group of the National Faith Development Team charged with exploring how good practice for sacramental preparation and celebration for the first celebration of the Sacraments of Reconciliation and Eucharist might be shared most effectively.  The group will also be working together on the Sacrament of Baptism and will seek to engage the Irish Church on some very challenging questions relating to the Sacrament of Confirmtion.  The current group includes: Fr. Peter Murphy (Council for Marriage and the Family), Fr. Danny Murphy (Council for Liturgy), Ms. Elaine Mahon (Veritas) and Ms Kate Liffey (Council for Catechetics).